On July 1, 2017, officially licensed retailers began selling recreational marijuana products to adults in Nevada. Here are some very important limitations to bear in mind regarding the legal use of marijuana in Nevada.
- If you’re under the influence of marijuana, you aren't permitted to drive or possess a firearm.
- Persons in possession of more than one ounce of marijuana, or more than 1/8 ounce of concentrated marijuana, and persons under the age of 21 in possession of any amount of marijuana or concentrated marijuana, are subject to arrest and prosecution under NRS 453. Simple possession is prohibited under NRS 453.336 and for the first offense is a Category E Felony
You cannot grow your own marijuana at home if you live within 25 miles of a retail marijuana store (unless you are a medical marijuana cardholder—those rules are different).
- Homeowners are permitted to grow 6 recreational plants per person, up to 12 plants total, at home if the property is more than 25 miles away from a licensed retail facility. Renters need the consent of the property owner to grow marijuana. Plants must be kept out of sight.
- Marijuana can be smoked or consumed at a private residence or in the privacy of your own home.
Marijuana cannot be consumed or smoked in any public place, including parks, sporting events, moving vehicles, casinos, hotels, concerts, festivals, marijuana facilities or while you’re walking down the street. People are not permitted to smoke or consume marijuana in federally subsidized housing or on any federally owned land in the State of Nevada.
- There are no workplace protections provided under Nevada’s current medical or recreational marijuana law. If your workplace prohibits marijuana, you can be reprimanded or fired if you test positive.
Official state information about marijuana in Nevada can be found here: Marijuana in Nevada as well on the
Clark County website.